Hospice Angels/ Gigi’s project and other Georgia Child Grief Resources (update)

A couple months ago, I posted about Child Grief Awareness day and the resources available in Georgia to help grieving parents help their kids. I was planning on writing an update blog later regarding the resources I contacted that day. Here are the results I’ve had so far:

  • The Compassionate Friends returned my call and it turns out they do not allow children to come to their candle light vigil. I was going to go with my friend who also suffered a loss last year, but when the day came, I just did not have the emotional strength to go. So I didn’t. They do have a monthly meeting the first Tuesday a month at 7 pm and I would like to go to one in the future, but I haven’t gone yet. I hope to get there early when I do go so that I can explore their library of resources and check out some books for me and my kiddos.
  • I still haven’t gone online on a computer to check out Kate’s club. It’s still on my to do list.
  • My local boys and girls club does not have a “be there” program. They have nothing for grief. They seem like a great club for kids to be a part of so I may consider signing my kids up for it in the future, but they didn’t have what I was looking for for my kiddos now.
  • I have signed my kids up for Experience Camps and am waiting for them to send us something in the mail. Rory is too young to go, but Addy, Evie and Izzy are all old enough so they will be going, Lord willing.
  • I’m waiting for Camp Stars to send me a packet in the mail. I’m really excited about that camp, as the whole family can attend and hopefully we can all benefit from it together.
  • Hope for Grieving Children has support groups for kids and adults at the same time. I’ll be calling back in February to find out when their spring session begins so we can participate with that as a family as well.
  • I spoke to someone at Compassus and a counselor came to speak to all of us. She brought each of the kids a blanket, a penguin and a book. The younger kids got a book of activities for expressing their grief and Addy and I both received a copy of The Grieving Teen: A Guide for Teenagers and their Friends. We’ve both started reading it but haven’t finished It yet. She’s gotten farther than I have. I plan to start reading it again when they go back to school Tuesday. The kids all participated with the counseling session and it really helped me to hear them talk about their grief with someone else. Afterwards, Addy and I went for a long walk and talked. She had felt ignored and forgotten in my grief and I had felt like when we had time to talk she didn’t take advantage of the time we had so we discussed how we could both do a better job of communicating. The lady who met with us will be coming back to meet with us again in about 5 months to see our progress and see if we need more help. And I will be calling Compassus back mid-September to sign my kids up for their one day camp in October.

There you have it. So far, the most useful resource for us has been Compassus. We really just needed someone to break the ice and allow us to feel more comfortable being open and talking about Maggie and JoAnna. Loss is a hard thing to process at any age, but my kids need my help and I needed help to see that. I think we are doing better together now. At least, now I’m aware and I’m trying. Life is full of twists and turns and complications and craziness. If we can learn to grieve together and make it through this intact, I really think we will be able to make it through anything life throws at us. I pray God will help us through this, as he has so far, and I thank him for his help.

If you and your children are grieving, contact your local Compassus office. It looks like they have offices in most of the continental US and they may have referrals for the states they do not operate in. They have been a great resource and help for our family. You don’t have to shepherd your children through grief alone. You don’t have to grieve alone. There are foundations, ministries and resources available. Find them. Let them help you help your kids. You won’t regret it. God bless you and your family, from a mom of grieving kids.

Author: christinaburlesonblog

I'm a Jesus loving, happily married mom to 4 beautiful girls here and 3 more in heaven. I love crazy Lula, the color purple, knitting, cooking, biking and running. I'm passionate about health and fitness and love sharing tips on fitness, health and recipes and helping you on your journey however I can.

Leave a comment