The Grown-up Appetizer (gluten free)

They say some people are in your life for a reason, some for a season and some forever. I say some are in your life for a recipe, but I guess that’s just a foodie version of a reason.

There are some people I thought would be in my life forever who ended up just being in my life for a recipe or two or a season of recipes. It hurt when they left my life, but I’m glad something good came out of the relationship, not just the pain that comes when they leave. This recipe is one of “those recipes”, one reason why I’m glad for someone’s presence in my life, short lived though it was.

When I was a child, my mom’s appetizers were celery with cheese whiz, which tastes good, but really isn’t very good for you. This recipe is like the grown up, healthier version of that.

The Grown-up Appetizer

Ingredients:

  • Jumbo black olives or celery stalks (or both)
  • 1 block cream cheese, softened
  • 1 tub Gorgonzola

Directions:

  1. Combine softened cream cheese with Gorgonzola.
  2. Stuff into olives or celery (or both).
  3. Enjoy and repeat.

Note: 1 block of cream cheese and 1 tub of Gorgonzola is enough to stuff 2 cans of jumbo olives and 2 bunches of celery hearts.

Recipe credit goes to JRM and JDM.

Also note: it is entirely possible to make 2 batches of this and eat it without taking photos. This time, the celery was finished first, thus the photo of olives only 😉

Author: christinaburlesonblog

I'm a Jesus loving, happily married mom to 4 beautiful girls here and 3 more in heaven. I love crazy Lula, the color purple, knitting, cooking, biking and running. I'm passionate about health and fitness and love sharing tips on fitness, health and recipes and helping you on your journey however I can.

Leave a comment