It’s a Musical thing

It all started with a song.

Well, it all started with a question.

And before that, it started with a bunch of kids in all black, under the stairs. But that was the start of a beautiful friendship. A question and a song started something much different.

When I was a broken, sad-mad kid, feeling unloved and looking for someone to change that for me, I came to mistakenly believe that having a relationship with a friend would be a bad idea. Instead of considering that having a relationship with a friend could deepen said relationship and make something even more beautiful, I feared that it would crash and burn and destroy said friendship and that, to me, was not worth the risk.

Fast forward many, many years through relationships that could not hack it and becoming an adult and realizing that once you get married, opposite sex relationships just don’t work the same. . . After the end of my marriage and the decision that I was done with relationships because men couldn’t be trusted. . . Then I got back in contact with my friend, who I already trusted.

After a while, there was a question.

“Would you consider dating me?”

And a most unexpected, likely far too detailed answer that ended with some very clear expectations of what dating would mean to me and a question in return.

“Can I think about it?” And I did. Some days, I had a hard time thinking about anything else.

We started talking. A lot. Long, random conversations, some of which ended when we fell asleep or our phones died.

And one day, another question.

“Which song do you like better, Crazy Girl or Are You Gonna Kiss Me Or Not?”

And my thinking went to a whole different level. I couldn’t pick one of those songs that I liked more because I really loved Crazy Girl because I am a crazy girl who still needs to hear that song on a regular basis. It just makes me feel loved. But I also really wanted him to kiss me.

Then one day in my Grandma’s kitchen, I issued my own challenge. I told him he probably had about 30 seconds before one of the kids would come into the room. . . (I was wrong, it was about 15). He kissed me and the rest was history.

And then one day, he asked me another question.

“Will you marry me?”

And I said yes. And the rest became our history. It’s been 5 years today since I agreed to date him and almost 5 years since we got married and I still think that’s the best decision I’ve ever made.

Today, we have 145 songs. We still find new songs that we love that we add to “our songs” because we still look for new songs that describe how we feel about each other. We listen to the songs when we’re together. Sometimes I listen to them alone with a goofy smile on my face. We listen to them on road trips. Sometimes we dance to them. But my favorite times are when my husband sings them to me.

And it all started with a song. Or a question. Or both. And I’m so glad it did. It’s a musical thing and I hope the music never ends. . .

Author: christinaburlesonblog

I'm a Jesus loving, happily married mom to 4 beautiful girls here and 3 more in heaven. I love crazy Lula, the color purple, knitting, cooking, biking and running. I'm passionate about health and fitness and love sharing tips on fitness, health and recipes and helping you on your journey however I can.

Leave a comment