Korean Spicy Green Onion Salad banchan recipe

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know I love Korean food. I’m always in search of a new side dish (banchan) recipe to add to my collection.

A while ago, my sister mentioned a green onion side she’d liked when she was in South Korea. I’d been wanting curry for a couple days now and decided tonight was a good night to have it and to try my hand at a new side since I had a bunch of green onions in the fridge.

I found a recipe on My Korean Kitchen that looked good so I decided to try it. It turned out pretty good. It wasn’t quite the same as the one my sister had in South Korea, but she liked it.

It’s kind of tedious to make as you have to slice the onions very thinly and that takes forever. It took so long that my kids were in bed before I finished it. So Eddie, Jessie and I were the only ones who tried it. Eddie didn’t like it because it tasted too oniony, but Jessie and I did (although I do agree it is very oniony). I hope you like it, too.

Korean Spicy Green Onion Salad

Ingredients:

  • One bunch of chives, cut in thirds and sliced thinly
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 2 tsp Korean chili flakes
  • 2 tsp white vinegar
  • 1 tsp minced garlic

Directions:

  1. Rinse onions in cold water for 3 minutes to remove the slimy surface.
  2. Shake strainer over sink to drain.
  3. Mix the rest of the ingredients to make a dressing.
  4. Mix dressing ingredients with onions lightly but thoroughly.
  5. Serve on a plate immediately. It will begin to wilt in 3-5 minutes.
  6. Enjoy and repeat.

Author: christinaburlesonblog

I'm a Jesus loving, happily married mom to 4 beautiful girls here and 3 more in heaven. I love crazy Lula, the color purple, knitting, cooking, biking and running. I'm passionate about health and fitness and love sharing tips on fitness, health and recipes and helping you on your journey however I can.

Leave a comment